Newspaper Editor's Son Charged with DUI following Knoxville Crash
A 20-year-old man, the son of an editor at The Knoxville News Sentinel, faces misdemeanor charges of driving under the influence (DUI) after crashing into the fence of a Southwest Knox County home. According to a news report in The Knoxville News Sentinel, the incident occurred along Duncan Road in Knoxville. He was not injured when he ran his 1999 Mitsubishi Montero off the road and into the fence. Officials say he had slurred speech and admitted to taking an unknown amount of Xanax at a friend's home. In addition to DUI charges, he faces Xanax drug possession charges after an officer found two pills in his pocket.
Under Tennessee law, you do not have to have alcohol in your system to face DUI charges. Under Tennessee Code 55-10-401(a): "It is unlawful for any person to drive or to be in physical control of any automobile while under the influence of any intoxicant, marijuana, narcotic drug, or drug producing stimulating effects on the central nervous system."
As long as the arresting officer believes that your ability to drive has been impaired by an intoxicant or drug, you will likely face DUI charges. Penalties for driving while impaired in Tennessee include a fine between $350 and $1,500 and driver's license suspension of up to one year. The Department of Safety & Homeland Security estimates that a first conviction for DUI in Tennessee can cost you as much as $5,000 after all fines and fees have been paid. That number does not include the expense of alternative transportation or the potential loss of employment.
If you or a loved one is facing DUI charges in Tennessee, please do not hesitate to call a Knoxville DUI defense lawyer at Baker Associates. We provide free consultations on all DUI cases at (866) 853-2888. We can help you fight the charges or negotiate for reduced penalties.